RSS

Keep Going

30 Jan

Yesterday, A and I went on a 8.5 mile bike ride. Now you have to understand that I have not been on a bike in years! As a child, my sister, brother and I rode our bikes around the village a lot. We even discovered a downhill trail that crossed a scary-looking creek and sped down that steep path one by one, over and over, much to our parents’ opposition. I look back now and realize how dangerous that was, but then again, we were kids! Kids = NO fear.

The bike and horse trails all around where I live are pretty awesome (at least I see where my tax dollars are going!). Well-built and well-lit, they are kept busy with bike enthusiasts, joggers, moms with strollers, dog-walkers, families and children. Yesterday’s adventure was quite exciting and exhilirating for me. Like I said, I hadn’t been on a bike in years. I was using a 3-speed loaner (as I have not fully committed to spending $400+ on a bike that I’ve been eyeing for some time now), needless to say, it sucked compared to A’s Trek road bike. It took me double the effort just to speed up, let alone go uphill. My legs were definitely pushed to its limits and I woke up a little sore this morning.

I’ve been pushed to my limits many a time in my life – both as a rebellious teen, as well as in my adult life. Just in the last few years, I went through a 2-year phase that was impossibly dark and chaotic. I have no shame in sharing that I went through a depression so serious I was under medication. And for obvious reasons, therapy was part and parcel of that entire episode. When I think about that time now, it seems like it was so long ago. I have certainly come a long way from those days and I’ve since developed such a positive and vibrant energy. Sometimes I feel like nothing can ever faze me anymore because I now know that in life, the problem isn’t really the actual problem, but how we respond to it. Problems are wonderful opportunities for us to make that choice of whether to sulk and start a pity party, or rise to the occasion and take a proactive approach at finding a resolution. Lesson learned: When you’re going through hell, KEEP GOING. You definitely don’t wanna set up camp and stay.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 30, 2012 in Fitness, Life

 

Leave a Reply

 
