RSS

The Nickel Diner

02 Oct

I came across The Nickel Diner on an episode of Guy Fieri’s Diners, Drive-ins & Dives and had read several glowing online reviews so A and I trekked towards downtown LA on Sunday morning to see for ourselves what the hype was all about. We weren’t disappointed. We couldn’t resist ordering their bestselling doughnut — maple glazed bacon; I had the 5th & Main and A got the Hangover Helper. After going through a month-long cleanse, my body can no longer take anything oily and carbohydrate-laden. Still, I had two small bites of the doughnut. I like that it was freshly baked, I just wish the dough was less dense. The marriage of maple and bacon was heavenly but extremely deadly! My pulled pork hash with poached eggs was a delish combination and just about the perfect protein-filled breakfast for me. While this kitschy diner is located in a not-so-great part of LA, I highly recommend it for those looking for great tasting comfort food at reasonable prices. Parking is limited to meters on the street and paid lots, and I heard the wait for a table can take awhile during peak hours. We were lucky enough to get there an hour into breakfast opening so parking was easy and we didn’t have to wait for a table. I can’t wait to visit again…there are so many other menu items to try!


Maple Glazed Bacon Doughnut

5th and Main {spicy pork BBQ hash topped w/ poached eggs}

Hangover Helper {egg scramble with bacon, italian sausage, potatoes topped w/ pepperjack cheese, avocado & salsa)

{all photos taken on my iPhone}


 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 2, 2011 in Culinary, Life, Photography

 

Leave a Reply

 
